Open All Hours


<
>
Koo's Salt House was built in 1910 by Koo Hsien-jung, the father of Koo Chen-fu, former chairman of Straits Exchange Foundation. It used to be the Koo's riverside residence in Dadaocheng and received its name from the salt business that the family was running. Designed to situated face the Tamsui Wharf, the house allowed shipping boats to be moored right in front of it.
Two years after the Koos moved out of the house in 1961, the Rongxing Kindergarten was opened on the site. Unique even by today's standards, this late-Renaissance structure shows signs of Western influence on the luxury estates at the time, such as the arched hallway, the façade that featured the pale yellow tiles, and the gracefully arched windows. Inside the house, the frequent use of Chinese cypress in well preserved ceiling and stairs, along with a wall marked with the logo of Koo Hsien-jung's Dahe Trading Company. All these designs bear witness to the family's heyday as well as a highlight in the city's history.
Services:
None
More Attractions Nearby

Chen De-xing Hall
Religious Venues

Dadaocheng Cisheng Temple
Historic Sites

Former Residence of Lee Lin-Chiu
Historic Sites

Dihua Street Post Office
Historic Sites

Dadaocheng Wharf
Blue Highway

Taiyuan Asian Puppet Theatre Museum
Art and Cultural Centers

Dadaocheng Theater
Art and Cultural Centers

Shuntien Surgical Hospital
Historic Sites

Wen Chang Temple
Religious Venues

Dadaocheng Branch of the Presbyterian Church in Taiwan
Religious Venues

Chiang Wei-shui Memorial Park
Outing Locations

Jia Art Gallery
Art and Cultural Centers

Xiahai City God Temple
Religious Venues

Chen Tian-Lai's Residence
Historic Sites

Old storefront buildings on Dihua St.
Historic Sites